Pan de Cada Día (Daily Bread)

Sometimes moments in your life come crashing together to make something beautiful (Most likely the handy work of God). And Saturday sure was something beautiful.

As some of you may know, I can become [just a bit] anxious, especially when things may not be going quite as smoothly as hoped. Let’s rewind to late August at good ole Camp Bishopswood during BION Teen Camp, actually to Thursday August 21, around 2 or 3 PM. HOW DID I NOT KNOW THERE WAS A SPECIFIC RECIPE FOR THE COMMUNION BREAD ?! As some witnesses may remember, I was a bit panicked when I thought we may not have communion bread for the Eucharist later that evening with the Bishop. Oops. (I would also like to add in a formal apology to Johanna for putting you through such stress, and I would also like to express my gratitude to all those who calmed me down during this bread situation).

FAST FORWARD

Here I are a few months later sitting in another country finding myself beyond thankful for that experience and this is why:

I mentioned to the lady I am staying with at the moment that the camp in Maine one of the activities is baking bread for communion (AND THIS PARTICULAR ACTIVITY STUCK OUT TO ME BECAUSE OF THE SPECIFIC SITUATION ON AUGUST 21, 2014). Little did I know, three children were taking their First Communion the following Saturday (which happened to be this past Saturday), and what a wonderful thing it would be for them to be able to actually make the bread for their First Communion.

So we arrive to Colon (where the Anglican Diocese has one of it’s parishes), and unbeknownst to me, I would be explaining to the children how to make the bread…in Spanish. Thankfully, this time, I was fully prepared with a recipe and ALL THE NEEDED INGREDIENTS. The children enjoyed making the bread and I even felt accomplished in my successful Spanish explanation.

Both these of these events will now have a place in my heart, one being the “Communion Bread Event Where I Cried Tears of Frustration” & this lastet as being the “Communion Bread Event Where I Cried Tears of Joy” (because obviously I would let a tear or two of joy slip out while the children took their First Communion.).They make a beautiful crash. God really does work in mysterious & magical ways !!

IMG_2949[1]

A few other updates:

-Two weekends ago I had the opportunity to attend a Bi-National Women’s Encounter Weekend hosted here in Montevideo. Three dioceses from Brazil & the Diocese of Uruguay had a wonderful weekend with discussions of what each diocese is doing, as well as some talks about the future, and some spectacular worship time together. My favorite part of the weekend was part of the devotion on Sunday morning before the service. We sang a beautiful song about strong women as we walked around the campus in the shining sun.

IMG_2815[1]

During the inspiring devotion time !!

-Also during that weekend, I was able to visit with a fellow YASCer (Nina!) serving her second year in Brazil. She convinced me to try Mate…I’m not complaining, but I’m not raving about it either. David & a few others from New York also made it down for the conference and I thoroughly enjoyed the time we were all able to spend together.

IMG_2849[1]

My first ever attempt at the art of making Mate

IMG_2832[1]

-I held a cat.

IMG_2867[1]

143,

Kirst.

One thought on “Pan de Cada Día (Daily Bread)

Leave a Reply

