Proverbs 27:17 & Bananas & Buses

Happy 3 Week Anniversary to me ! I have been in Montevideo for three weeks, and this is what’s been goin’ on:

I can take the bus to and from the church all by MYSELF without getting lost. For me, this is a huge accomplishment since my mother has always told people I can’t find my way out of a paper bag (which actually isn’t too far from the truth).

Teatro Solis (Cuidad Vieja) because I can take the bus to see it.

Teatro Solis (Cuidad Vieja) because I can take the bus to see it.

Do you know what’s more distracting than reading all the books as you’re shelving while working at a library (s/o Warner Memorial Library)? Reading documents in the archives room at the cathedral, that’s what. This past week I’ve been doing some work in the archives room, and aside from a few things in Spanish I don’t understand, and some number figures that means nothing to me, the rest is all quite interesting. I even found a pamphlet from probably the early 90’s about being thankful, and in it there was a photo of Portland Headlight. You can always find a little bit of home no matter where you go !!

Catedral de la Santísima Trinidad

Catedral de la Santísima Trinidad

Last Friday I decided to venture (by foot because well, the only bus I know went in the opposite direction) to Estadio Centenario (where the first FIFA World Cup was played !!). Even though football (futbol, soccer) is not my number one…or two…or three sport, I have started to enjoy it, and being a sports fan in general, I thoroughly enjoyed my visit. In the museum part I was able to learn a bit about the history of football in Uruguay and some general history of the country as well. On my way back from my visit I apparently missed a turn (who would have ever thought I would make such a mistake ?!), but it was for the best as I found the most adorable and delicious empanada place in my time of wandering.

Estadio Centenario

Estadio Centenario

One thing I appreciate immensely about this city is the abundance of open air markets (ferias). It’s so lovely to have fresh fruit (especially bananas, they have been my fruit of choice these part two weeks), and I enjoy simply wandering around and see some of the culture.

At a Feria

At a Feria

Lastly, one evening last week Proverbs 27:17 came up in conversation with a fellow YASCer and I had forgotten how much it applies to this adventure. Proverbs 27:17 reads as follows:

“As iron sharpens iron,
so one person sharpens another.”

The amount of support I have received from my fellow YASCers, and all of those friends and family back home, and the people I have met here in Uruguay, is overwhelmingly beautiful and something to be joyous about. I hope we can continue to sharpen one another !! Also, in Spanish the verse is translated as:

“El hierro se afila con hierro,
y el hombre en el trato con el hombre”

The day after I reflected on this verse, the word “afila” (sharpen) came up in conversation during my Spanish lesson, so surprisingly I knew what the word meant, and was reminded of the verse yet again. God moment…check.

143,

Kirst.

One thought on “Proverbs 27:17 & Bananas & Buses

Leave a Reply

