You can take the girl out of the trees, but you can’t take the trees out of the girl.

Estoy aqui ! I am here ! I arrived in Montevideo, Uruguay safely on Friday. The past three days have been filled with settling in, meeting new people, and finding my bearings. Of course the plane ride is when it hit me that I will be gone for an entire year. Luckily, a friend had made me playlist for the plane ride and the first song was “Oceans” by Hillsong, and after listening to it, I calmed down and remembered God is with me each step of the way and He will pick me up if I stumble.

Since arriving, I have met some extremely generous and friendly people. I have spent some time with a few members of the local congregation, and I feel so welcomed by all. The cathedral is stunning and the service was just like at home. There is a small Spanish speaking service, and a slightly larger (yet still small) English service. I am looking forward to truly getting to know the members of the congregation throughout the year.

Today I took a walk in the park with my new friend that I spent time with yesterday, and as we were walking she taught me the names of the trees in Spanish. SO MANY PALM TREES. I don’t think there is a Spanish translation for “tree hugger”, so maybe I will have to be creative !!

IMG_2479[1]

Also, last night was Daylight Savings, so I am now two hours ahead of EST since it is spring here and we sprung forward an hour. I am sure the opposite seasons will through me for a loop or two, or more throughout the year !!

“You call me out upon the waters
The great unknown, where feet may fail
And there I find You in the mystery
In oceans deep, my faith will stand

Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders
Let me walk upon the waters
Wherever You would call me
Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander
And my faith will be made stronger
In the presence of my Savior” – Oceans by Hillsong

143,
Kirst.

P.S. Knowing how to say your grandfather is Italian in Spanish will get you invited over for a ravioli lunch. Que Rico !!

4 thoughts on “You can take the girl out of the trees, but you can’t take the trees out of the girl.

  1. Kirsten, So glad everything went well with your flight and settling in. I know you will make a lot of new friends and they will better for knowing you. Gerri

Leave a Reply

